7 New Year’s Resolutions for a Kick-Ass 2017

I’ve flip-flopped over whether New Year’s resolutions are effective things to make. I think it really depends on how you make them, as in, how realistic and specific they are. General resolutions like “be less negative” or “be happier” without more specific goals don’t tend to work too well.

That’s why, this year, I decided to draw up a list of seven resolutions I feel are realistic and specific enough to make happen. Feel free to borrow, steal, take inspiration from, add to, or modify this list when making your own resolutions. I’ll likely make some kind of follow-up post or video in February, as well, to let you know how these are going.

023
[Image: Old fashioned TV set on a table, surrounded by antiques. Blue-green walls in the background].
1. Stop Watching TV

I’ve already started working on this one, which is how I know it’s not unrealistic. It’ll be challenging, but worth it, I think. TV in and of itself isn’t bad, but my habits around TV consumption are. I just can’t seem to do it in moderation. It’s all or nothing, and when its all, it sucks up huge amounts of my free time, preventing me from reading, creating, or finding other ways to relax. I’ll still watch with friends and family sometimes, but the solo marathon sessions need to stop.

2016-04-23 08.53.16.jpg
[Image: Pair of reading glasses on top of an open book, which is on a Thesaurus. Stack of magazines in the background. Rest of the image is black].
2. Read Two Books a Month

This one is pretty ambitious! It also depends on me following through with the first resolution. I’m actually a pretty fast reader and tend to motor through books, particularly if they’re one of my main sources of entertainment. I may not get to two a month right away, but even starting off with one would be great.

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 2.31.38 PM.png
[Image: Screenshot from the top of Sage’s YouTube channel, showing their banner, profile picture, and how many subscribers they have].
3. Reach 1,000 Subscribers on YouTube

When I first started my YouTube channel, I set the goal to reach 100 subscribers in the first year. I made it to just over 300, which is very exciting! Though I don’t expect to be YouTube famous any time soon, if I keep putting my all into it I think I can reach 1k in the year to come.

IMG_20130515_111812_168.jpg
[Image: Shot from above and behind, people wearing grad caps and gowns sitting in black folding chairs].
4. Finish My Degree

I should be writing my final exams at the beginning of February. Then, I’m done. This will be a huge weight off my shoulders and a big accomplishment. Getting this degree has been an uphill battle the whole way. I can’t believe how close I am!

I’m setting this as a resolution in order to acknowledge the accomplishment that it will be. It should happen whether or not it’s on this list, but when I revisit it later, I want to be able to smile at this one.

nature-reserve-walkway.jpg
[Image: Yellowed grasses in a marsh, trees to the left, grey sky, and a long wooden pathway weaving into the distance].
5. Get on a Career Path

The logical next step after finishing my degree. It may not be the career path that I’ll follow for the rest of my life, but I’d like to find the first stepping stone for a career in something I feel passionate about. I’m already preparing my resume and a little video essay for research-based jobs, which I think I’d love.

Also, YouTube?? I feel like there’s something to that as well, but I haven’t quite figured it out yet.

file000277861948.jpg
[Image: Stack of flattened cardboard boxes tied together, sitting on a table. Shot from the side].
6. Move Out

Once school is no longer in the way and I can start working full-time in a field I (hopefully) like, I should have the means and resources to get my own place again. I dream dreams of a one-room bachelor, and hope to make that happen at some point in the New Year. I’m feeling ready to reclaim my independence.

DUSTY  VINTAGE KEYBOARD.jpg
[Image: Dusty, old keyboard of a typewriter, shot from above, sitting on a table. Black keys with white lettering].
7. Finish Writing My Book

The rough-draft, at least. This may be the most challenging of the seven, which is why it’s last on the list. Honestly, I think finishing school will really help, because with it I simply have too many things on my plate. If I could wake up in the morning and work on my book rather than a series of assignments, then I’d likely make much quicker progress. Writing an entire book is really, very hard. This one might not happen, but I’m going to try my best!

2016 has been a really hard year for myself and many others, but more than anything, it’s been a year of growth and development for me. I want to continue to use some of the tools I gained this year in the next, and I’m hopeful that some of these resolutions will help to make it an overall better (though perhaps not easier) year. I have hope!

What are your resolutions?

Note: All images are free stock photos provided by http://www.morguefile.com, with the exception of the YouTube screenshot.

One thought on “7 New Year’s Resolutions for a Kick-Ass 2017

  1. Great resolutions. I think the point of making them is not so much that it is a tradition but that the New Year marks the end of something and the beginning of something else. I think it is helpful to take stoke at this time of year to reflect. It is also a good time to think about where we want to go next. Life is fluid so we can’t orchestrate everything but we can find ways to nourish our growth and development. It is a good idea to set out our intentions so the choices we make during the year have a reference point. That is the best we can hope for. Then we just have to try to go with the flow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

